Easy Sticky BBQ Jerk Tofu

If you are like me in my non-meat eating journey, you may be wary about tofu. Intimidated, even. What is it? What do I do with it? How do people make it so flavorful?! Is it healthy, or not? I say research for yourself to see if it is something that is right for you. There are many debates about its nutritional content, and whether or not it is really good for us to consume.

We are all on different journeys. So, let me first say that I do eat tofu on occasion, but I may partake about once a month, or once every couple of months. When I do eat it, I need the experience to be a good one! I played with tofu earlier on in my journey to “meatlessness,” with more fails than successes, so this one I am finally proud of.

Under $15 for the dish. Here it goes!


Prep time: 25 min
Cook time: 25 min
Yield: 5 minutes for any extra cooking or pressing needed

serving size: 2 people

 

Ingredients

  • 1 Pack of extra firm organic tofu
  • 2-3 cups of your favorite BBQ sauce (this time around, I used “Stubbs,” Image result for stubbs bbq saucebut whatever one you like will work!)
  • 1 teaspoon of black pepper
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced (garlic powder- not garlic salt- also works just fine)
  • ½ cup of chopped red onion (any kind works)
  • ½ tablespoon of Jamaican jerk seasoning of choice. I used Caribbean Rhythms Hot Jerk Seasoning Caribbean Rhythms Jerk Seasoning, 5 Oz(I also make a good homemade jerk dry rub that I will share later on the blog, too!)
  • 1 teaspoon of sea Salt or Himalayan salt (optional)
  • 1-2 tablespoons of chopped scallion for garnish (optional, but not really. Do it, it’s yummy.)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 ° F
  2. Start heating up your pan on the stove over medium-high heat
  3. Open tofu pack, and get ready to PRESS for minimum of 15 min. Put paper towels or clean cloth on cutting board, place tofu block on top, place more paper towels/clean cloth on top of tofu, place heavy pan or bowl on top. Water should soak up towels and drain out. Pressing is necessary to get rid of the extra liquid that it sits in, and to get rid of the bitter taste that can come with it.
  4. Once most water is drained from tofu, cut into small or medium square chunks, based on your preference.
  5. Add tofu chunks to heated pan, seasoning with minced garlic, onions, salt, pepper, jerk seasoning, and let brown. (approx. 10 min- 5 minutes in between mixing/flipping tofu)
  6. Add another 1-2 cups of BBQ sauce to pan, and toss tofu.
  7. Let tofu continue to cook over medium-low/low heat until it begins to caramelize.
  8. Remove tofu from pan, and place in an 8-inch, oiled or lined baking dish.
  9. Pour over another round (1 cup or more if you like it super saucy) of BBQ sauce.
  10. Place pan in oven, and let bake for another 15 minutes. If you like your tofu firmer, and crispier, leave in oven for an extra 5-10 minutes, checking in between.
  11. When done, tofu should look like some sticky, caramel-y, BBQ goodness.
  12. Sprinkle chopped scallions on top for garnish, and enjoy with some delicious veggies and rice.

 

Peace, Love, and Good EATS!

 


I will leave a few articles here that provide information about the health benefits and detriments. Keep to the journey. I am learning more about my own health, diet, and how to pace myself during my transition to optimal health, so it’s slow and steady for me. Always research, and remember to do what is best for YOU.

  1. https://authoritynutrition.com/what-is-tofu/
  2. Sebi (against Tofu) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pzxwEglSqKY

Comment and share your tricks with us!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

